Skip to Main Content

Tchaikovsky Spectacular

Tchaikovsky Spectacular

with The Philadelphia Orchestra
Get Tickets


$20.00 - $55.00





Presented By:

the Mann


All Ages


Kensho Watanabe, conductor


This performance is part of the Mann’s Summer Picnic Series, Presented by Burke Brothers

burke final block


Add to calendar Add to Calendar 2018-07-17 20:00:00 2018-07-17 20:00:00 Tchaikovsky Spectacular The Mann Center the Mann. America/New_York public

The breathtaking range of Russia’s most beloved cultural export, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, is on display to open our 2018 summer season with The Philadelphia Orchestra. Elegant and fiery, soulful and triumphant, Tchaikovsky’s music captures the longing of the human spirit and celebrates the vitality only music can extol. His most popular opera, Eugene Onegin, centers this program, a story of love and loss first immortalized by Pushkin in his novel of the same name. Soprano Elena Perroni returns from her triumph in the Mann's The Heavens are Telling performance last summer to beguile with the Letter Scene from the opera. In it, the teenage Tatiana rhapsodizes about her first love. The Waltz that anchors one of the two glittering party scenes in the opera opens our program.


Cellist Zachary Mowitz, one of the latest winners of The Philadelphia Orchestra's Albert M. Greenfield Student Competition, will dazzle in his performance of the elegant Variations on a Rococo Theme, one of many homages to past times Tchaikovsky wrote in several forms throughout his career. That career also contained three now immortal ballets from which we excerpt the greatest music of The Sleeping Beauty including the majestic Waltz. And what all-Tchaikovsky program would be complete without the 1812 Overture, culminating with fireworks!


PROGRAM (subject to update) 

The Philadelphia Orchestra
Kensho Watanabe, conductor
Zachary Mowitz, cello
Elena Perroni, soprano

Tchaikovsky: Waltz, from Eugene Onegin
Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Rococo Theme, for cello and orchestra (Zachary Mowitz)
Tchaikovsky: Letter Scene, from Eugene Onegin (Elena Perroni)


Tchaikovsky: Suite, from The Sleeping Beauty
Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture


Tickets are on sale now via, (800) 745-3000, or the Mann Box Office.

icon icon


icon icon

Picnics are permitted for this performance as a part of the Mann's Summer Picnic Series, presented by Burke Brothers Landscaping Design.

If you are 21 years of age or older and plan to consume alcohol at the concert, please be prepared to present proper I.D.



icon_lawnchair icon_lawnchair

Lawn chairs are permitted for this performance. The Mann recommends reasonably sized chairs; be a good neighbor!

Small blankets are permitted for all shows, but we do ask that you be mindful of your neighbors on the lawn. 

icon icon

Not sure where to go?

Find your seat


Parking is available at all shows.


Want to park closer to the gates? Members of the Mann receive perks (including upgraded parking) for all shows!

Become a Member

Getting to the Mann is easier than ever!

icon_information icon_information

More Info

icon_camera icon_camera icon_no

No photography is permitted at this performance.